Meet Kate

In many ways, I'm almost a cliche of myself. I live in a city apartment with two cats. I write short stories and novellas. I teach English Composition at local colleges (as an adjunct). I have a master's in a (sort of) useless degree--no, not philosophy: American & New England Studies (my thesis is on popular culture and literature and can be found here).

I'm a conservative libertarian (which may or may not break the cliche), a Mormon (which probably does), and a lover of popular culture from manga to sitcoms, mystery shows to romance paperbacks. As a writer, my short stories are mostly fantasy and science-fiction; my novellas are Victorian world fantasy, historical tributes, and contemporary mystery.

I adore stuff like string theory although I don't understand much of it, and am a skeptic about anything that gets too labelly. (See my philosophy below where I go on and on and on about that.)

I can be reached at nitaheerk@gmail.com (it's an anagram).

Many of the pictures below were taken by Jen, my friend since kindergarten. Without Jen, I would probably have no photographic record of my adult life since I'm the kind of person who takes cameras to places and then overexposes the entire roll (or accidentally deletes all the pictures on a cell phone). Thanks, Jen!

This picture, however, was taken by my mom:

My Other Life

Foggy Day in Maine

Jen and Kate

The Things People Don't Know About Our Family . . .

My Seminary Students (I Confess, I Taught Them to Read the Scriptures & Fight)

Kate

Woodbury Ladies: Kate, Beth, Mom, Ann, Kezia

Kate, Mom, Ann, Kezia at Lobster Shack


Kate, Mom, Ann, Kezia, and Dad, the Patriarch